Summer of Chicago: Day 4 and the Departure

Apologies again for having such a drastic time gap in between relaying my adventures in Chicago. I’ve been pumped busy with catching up with old friends and attending to future endeavors in my school life. Nevertheless, it should not disturb my ability to log the good vibes I feel throughout my summer. Furthermore, I’ve been feeling some really good vibes this past week, on which I will write a bit more about throughout this week. Be on the lookout for a couple new restaurant posts and music posts.

For now, I’ll just recall the last day I spent in Chicago. Though it only lasted for a couple of hours, we were able to get up in time to check out one more Chicago hot spot before leaving for home.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 preset

Navy Pier is currently Chicago’s number one tourist destination. That being said, there are a lot of people there usually. It’s a very family friendly destination so kids of all ages are amply welcome. There’s a little amusement park on the second tier of the main complex. While the boardwalk section is commercial based and is now a modern gathering space, it used to be an actively working pier that housed lake freighters and warehouses for storage and transportation. Lining the pier, you can see mock voyage ships and sailboats cruising along the peaceful, serene lake as you take in the sounds of modern day civilization and clamor.

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

While it’s a nice change of pace to be able to walk along the lakeshore, Navy Pier is very much overrated in my opinion. With commercial stores and restaurants lining the boardwalk, it was a bit too hustle and bustle for my liking. In contrast, I really enjoyed the lakefront beaches, though I only saw them from afar. Next time I visit Chicago, I will definitely be spending more time on the beaches.


The beauty of Chicago is that anytime I feel like getting away, I know there’s a 6 hour drive from Columbus to Chicago and that all that stands between me an a break is a doable drive and access to a car. I’d love to see myself exploring and enjoying Chicago more often. I know this city still has so much to offer me and so much for me to grasp and learn from it.

Until next time, Chicago.

-jc

For the other parts of the Summer of Chicago series:

Day 1 Day 2 Day 3.1 Day 3.2

Leave a comment